Self-Inflicted Punishment

I will not reinvent the wheel. I will not reinvent the wheel. I will not reinvent the wheel. I will not reinvent the wheel…

Yesterday I wasted nearly five hours trying to implement something someone else had already coded. This isn’t the first time I have tried developing something from scratch without first checking to see what others have done to solve the exact same problem. I need to break this habit.

…I will not reinvent the wheel. I will not reinvent the wheel. I will not reinvent the wheel. I will not reinvent the wheel. I will not reinvent the wheel. I will not reinvent the wheel…

2 thoughts on “Self-Inflicted Punishment

  1. kerrin

    man i am just the opposite. i always search, search, search before i start any coding… i love open source!
    the down side is that i think it can stifle my own creative problem-solving thought process.

    of course you may just be a refactoring masochist.

    oh now that you are into other peoples code check out these sweet dropdowns using the jquery library:
    http://users.tpg.com.au/j_birch/plugins/superfish/

    it’s as they put it “Suckerfish on ‘roids”

    a fade delay on mouseout… pretty sweet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

